What Am I Listening To 2014 – “Home By Now” and “Feel” by Bombay Bicycle Club

Posted: February 12, 2014 in Album Reviews, What Am I Listening To 2014
Tags: , , , , ,

Bombay Bicycle Club "So Long, See You Tomorrow"Thanks to my two eldest sons, Bombay Bicycle Club is one young band I am familiar with. “So Long, See You Tomorrow” is there fourth album, and it is completely different than the first three in that it is not completely different from the previous one. That is, the band released an above average Indie  Rock album, a completely acoustic folk album, and an electronic pop album in that order, as though they were three different bands. I’m not complaining – I enjoyed them all. I would not have thought that was the best way to build a core following, but it seems to be working for them.

Anyway,  “So Long, See You Tomorrow” builds on “A Different Kind of Fix”, their previous album, with a smooth balance of pop that relies less on the guitars than previous albums, filling out the sound with a variety of synth work, extra vocals, and a wind instruments. There are also some sneaky world music motifs popping up here and there, especially rhythmically, possibly inspired by singer/songwriter/guitarist/keyboardist/frontman Jack Steadman’s travels through India, Japan and Turkey.

To me this album sounds like their most mature work so far, fewer quirks, just decent sounding pop music from beginning to end. I can see the album kicking Bombay Bicycle Club up another notch to a wider audience the way last years “AM” did for the Arctic Monkeys. I hope I’m right. This album is a pleasure to listen to.

“Carry Me” and “Luna” have already been released as singles, .The latter is currently on the BBC Radio 1 playlist. Therefore with all there is to choose from I’ll skip those. My son Tiernan really likes the opening track “Overdone”, and I like it too, but he can get his own blog (lol). Instead I’ll go with “Home By Now”, which is a mid-tempo ballad with an “ahhh” feeling kind of chorus and some nice dynamics as the song goes on. I’ve also chosen “Feel”, which grabbed me right away with drummer Suren de Saram’s mid-eastern rhythmic drive under a catchy upbeat tune with a simple but effective hook in the chorus. They are both on the What Am I Listening to 2014 playlist.

Leave a Reply

